Sangria: to all who ask for

200508493-001
Party time!

What is all that mean to me?

As I promised, I share the traditional recipe of Sangria, but first let me tell my own history of our famous Sangria and the meaning of prepare Sangria to me:

Many years ago I learnt how to make Sangria, the first time that I prepared was in Barcelona, It was a success 45 mins after we try the first cup, all of us get a little bit fuzzy, from that moment I said to my self that I’m going to prepare and share this recipe to all who I really appreciate it. From many many years from now Rhonda & I share priceless moments with friends, preparing Sangria each time that we had party times from Tarragona to Guatemala.

This is the recipe that I learn form Isa (Isabel) the nice and sweet grandma, when I prepare Sangria came to me the words from Isa said many times to me: Hola hijo!!! … Javier come y calla… no no she did not said that to me, but I would like to hear it again, any way she makes a handcraft to Rodrigo with this words….

The flavors of food and taste from Almeria (Zarzuela, Paella, mmmmm), the pictures from friends around one big table, friends from many countries, the parties that we had around the globe (Terrassa, Barcelona, Florence, Tarragona, Maribor (Slovenija), Guatemala, Brazil, etc), of course I can make paella, and of course I also learn the recipe from Isa  and my closer family in Terrassa (Barcelona), each time that I prepare Sangria share a long history of nice people, friends around the globe, that taste this history from this recipe:

Ingredients to make 4 liters of the spirituous drink:

  • 2 liters of red wine you can use a cheap one if you want
  • 2 liters of lemon/orange soda
  • 2 tablespoons of sugar per liter of mixture
  • 2 ounces of white liquor per liter of  mixture (you can use one of this not all of them: rum, vodka, tequila, oruju, hot water, caipirinha,  jajajaja etc, but if you use all of them you have to invite me!!!)
  • 2 lemons, scrape the skin and put it in the mix, do not put the lemon
  • Cinnamon stick to taste
  • Ground cinnamon to taste
  • 1 orange slices
  • strawberries or peaches to taste
  • 2 apples in cubes

Enjoy it, you have to prepare it at least 24 hours before, leave it in the frig or as Isa said leave it under the moon.

Responder

